This year, the annual NPSA conference and tradeshow took place in Florida – the Sunshine State. Great news for iCON America, as the location of the event in beautiful West Palm Beach was only an hour’s car ride away from the Fort Lauderdale office.

Many guests at the iCON booth

NPSA 2918: New booth – proven concept

After their successful first time as exhibitors at the previous conference in Las Vegas in 2017, the booth concept was expanded and optimized, while still maintaining the tried and tested combination of product information, meeting- and entertainment area. Next to in-depth information on different types of sea- and storage-containers, there was plenty of room for branch manager Glori Fernandez and her team to talk to their numerous guests.

Old Concept – New Booth

Entertainment „Feed the Shark“

But the conference wasn’t all work, no play: One of this year’s entertainment highlights was the throwing game “Feed the Shark”, where guests proved their agility and accuracy. Many of them also made sure to get a selfie with Elina, the mermaid, who hosted the game.

npsa 2018 icon container

iCON Team & Two Clients Pose with The Mermaid and Shark

New visitor and exhibitor records

The NPSA organizers were delighted by the lively attendance of this year’s event. The total of 650 visitors and 48 exhibitors from the United States, Canada, Asia, and Europe set a new record for the conference. Joel Rathbone, Mark DePasquale and Kaylee Ferguson, who were in charge of the conference on the part of the NPSA, were very happy with the result. Not only was the number of participants quite high this year; there was also a heightened interest in new players on the market. Next to container vendors and –manufacturers, and providers of transport equipment, –accessories and –services; there were also companies among the exhibitors that presented e-commerce solutions and equipment sharing platforms.

npsa icon container

Special Container as well on display

Need for change

Alongside an informative and entertaining program, networking receptions and guest lectures rounded out the event. In his address John Layland Barker, founder and CEO of Titan Containers, pointed out the acute need for change, especially for smaller companies. If you don’t want to run the risk of being bought or becoming obsolete, you should no longer wait to change things up. “Be innovative, remain relevant for your customers,” Layland advised his audience.

All in all, the conference once again offered many opportunities to expand existing business activities and a lot of inspiration for changes in the future.

Im „Sunshine State“ Florida, genauer im schönen West Palm Beach fand die diesjährige NPSA Messe statt. Für das Team von iCON America ein glattes Heimspiel, lag der Veranstaltungsort doch nur gut eine Autostunde vom Büro in Fort Lauderdale entfernt.

Hohe Konjunktur am Stand von iCON.

NPSA 2018: Neuer Stand – bewährtes Konzept

Nach dem erfolgreichen ersten Auftritt als Aussteller auf der vorangegangenen Messe in Las Vegas in 2017 wurde das Standkonzept vergrößert und weiter optimiert. Der gelungene Mix aus Produktinformationen, Meeting Area und Entertainment-Bereich vom letzten Mal wurde beibehalten. Neben umfangreichen Informationen zu verschiedenen Container Typen aus den Segmenten See-Container und Lager-Container gab es ausreichend Platz für Branch Manager Glori Fernandez und  Ihrem Team, um ihre zahlreichen Gäste zu begrüßen.

Neues Konzept – mehr Platz für Besucher und individuelle Gespräche.

Entertainment „Feed the Shark“

Ein Highlight war die diesjährige Entertainment Aktion; damit neben intensiven Fachgesprächen der Spaß nicht auf der Strecke blieb, konnten die Gäste ihre Geschicklichkeit und ihre Treffsicherheit beim Wurfspiel „Feed the Shark“ unter Beweis stellen. Viele Gäste nutzen auch die Gelegenheit für einen Schnappschuss mit der Meerjungfrau „Elina“, die die Gäste beim Spiel betreute.

icon international container services employees

Feed the Shark and the iCON Crew

Neuer Rekord bei Teilnehmern und Ausstellern

Auch auf Seiten der NPSA Organisatoren war man von dem breiten und regen Beteiligung der diesjährigen Veranstaltung begeistert. Mit einer Teilnehmerzahl von 650 Gästen und 48 Ausstellern aus den Vereinigten Staaten, Canada, Asien und Europa angereist waren, konnte mit der diesjährigen Veranstaltung ein neuer Rekord aufgestellt werden. Die Hauptverantwortlichen auf Seiten der NPSA Joel Rathbone, Mark DePasquale und Kaylee Ferguson, waren mit dem Ergebnis hochzufrieden. Neben der zahlenmäßig starken Beteiligung war auch ein gestiegenes Interesse ganz neuer Anbieter auf dem Markt erkennbar. Neben Container Händlern, Container Herstellern und Anbietern rund um Transportgerät, Zubehör und –dienstleistungen waren erstmals auch innovative Service Provider unter den Ausstellern, die Angebote um die Themen E-Commerce und Equipment Sharing Plattformen präsentierten.

Auch Spezialcontainer gehören mit zu der Ausstellung

Notwendigkeit zu Veränderung

Neben einem informativen wie unterhaltsamen Rahmenprogramm rundeten Empfänge und Gastvorträge die Veranstaltung schlüssig ab. In seinem Vortrag wies Geschäftsführer und  Gründer von Titan Containers, John Leyland Barker mit mahnender Dringlichkeit auf die Notwendigkeit zu Veränderung hin, vor allem bei kleinerer Gesellschaften. Wer nicht Gefahr laufen will aufgekauft, oder überflüssig zu werden, sollte mit Veränderungen nicht länger warten!. „Be innovative, remain relevant for your customers“ riet Leyland seinen Zuhörern.

So bot die Veranstaltung auch in diesem Jahr wieder viele Gelegenheiten für den Ausbau bestehender Geschäftsaktivitäten und nicht zuletzt auch jede Menge Anregungen für in die Zukunft gerichtete Veränderungen.